inspired by rumi

October 24, 2009 at 10:35 pm 3 comments

Rumi4 copy

RumiWords

Entry filed under: existential meanderings. Tags: , .

from the archives the need for non sense

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John Small  |  February 3, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Lately I’ve been opening the thinking process to the sensations from my feet. It’s an interesting thing, not just thinking on one’s feet, but WITH one’s feet. It slows down writing comments on people’s blogs, but I think contributes to something that might just be right speech. My head can lie to me, and others, but my feet not so much. In order to stand, walk and dance, they have to remain honest.

    Reply
  • 2. joannetolkoff  |  February 3, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    I have to ponder this – no, to actually try being with my feet – I forget about them till they remind me when they are tired. I like the idea of bringing awareness to the opposite end of the body.

    Reply
  • 3. John Small  |  February 3, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    About a year ago I went on a ten day Vipassana Mediation retreat. This has been, to date, my first, and longest meditation retreat experience. Much of the technique involves observing the sensations of the body in a kind of ongoing scanning. Of course there’s more to it than that that can only really be understood by someone with similar experience… zazen for instance… but after falling out of practice for a while, a couple months I started sitting again, and lately when I’ve reminded myself throughout the day that my whole body is aware, not just the talking part at the top… well, it’s very grounding. Especially those feet.

    Lately, there’s something downright comforting in thinkin’ my head aint so smart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


