grumpy thought for the day

February 11, 2010 at 9:09 pm 5 comments

Entry filed under: existential meanderings. Tags: , , , , .

always look but don’t grasp

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John Small  |  February 11, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Love it. Perfect.
    Recently thought, “We are afraid that things aren’t permanent. Then we’re afraid that they are.”
    Can’t win.

    Reply
    • 2. Barry Briggs  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:03 pm

      What if it’s both totally personal and totally not personal? Or neither totally personal and totally not personal?

      The Buddha sometimes would say things like, “Between saying “this exists” and “this does not exist” is the Middle Way.”

      That’s a wonderful teaching, I suppose, but our felt life – experience itself – most often totally matches your drawing.

      Thanks, Joanne!

      Reply
      • 3. joannetolkoff  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:20 pm

        Thank you Barry for reminding me of the Middle Way. You pointed to a belief I have about there not being a person. For an instant, I could see that I wanted it one way or the other and what was between does not fit into anything that can be explained or believed. The truth is something I can’t imagine even though I try all the time.

    • 4. joannetolkoff  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:30 pm

      John – Yes I know – then your thoughts about impermanence led me to ponder the incredible amount of change I have experienced in the last 5 years. I also work in a field who’s middle name is change yet I still cling to wanting something predictable somewhere in my life even though all evidence is to the contrary.

      Reply
      • 5. John Small  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:09 pm

        Recently, not thinking so much “the middle way” I came up with the word “Bothness” in regard to things that had seemed polarized into
        either/or. Permanent, impermanent; personal, not personal, etc…
        Always rushing for a fixed answer I’d jump at “nothing is permanent! THAT’S the reality.” and then run into things that weren’t changing fast enough for me.

        Anyway, came up with “bothness” which is much more accommodating.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


