it’s all a muddle

April 11, 2010 at 2:06 pm 3 comments

Entry filed under: existential meanderings. Tags: , , , .

what I think I don’t know late night ponderings

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barry Briggs  |  April 11, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Sometimes “not okay” is the creation of our mind, not an attribute of “this.”

    In those times, I dunno whether to put one foot out the door or to jump in with both feet first.

    Reply
    • 2. joannetolkoff  |  April 11, 2010 at 9:00 pm

      Barry, I was thinking about how most of the time, I am not content with what is. I am always wishing things were different somehow – that right now is never enough and that the grass is greener in the past or in the future. Which also means that I always have one foot out the door – no quite committed and looking toward a future that will be different than this. I think I was chastising myself for my unceasing restlessness. I am not sure I got to the root of this one…sigh.

      Reply
      • 3. Barry Briggs  |  April 12, 2010 at 3:26 pm

        Yep. I know this mind quite well. The Buddha called it “dukkha,” of course.

        I find that one of my biggest challenges, particularly in human relationships, is getting both feet in the door. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


