higher math

May 26, 2010 at 8:48 pm 4 comments

Entry filed under: existential meanderings. Tags: , , .

reflexion identity shopping

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barry Briggs  |  May 27, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Sometimes it seems like we’re never really dual. Rather, it seems like we’re always completely whole. For example, if we are genuinely compassionate, then we’re compassionate in all areas of our life. On the other hand, if we tell lies to one person, we deceive in all areas of our life. I have less and less sense of fragmentation and more sense of unity. Which is not always wonderful, depending on what I’m “up to.”

    Reply
    • 2. joannetolkoff  |  May 27, 2010 at 6:42 pm

      I am in a phase where I am noticing more and more that all perception is in duality – that I can not see black without knowing white, sadness without happiness, you without me. It is bouncing between these extremes that I tend not to accept. Theoretically, they are whole but there is a piece I keep missing or the mind can’t see beyond the endless seesaw. I called it higher math because it is a space I’m not able to calculate by any normal means.

      I do agree about behavior being holistic and that our actions tend to remain consistent. Is it a lack of trust in our essential nature that makes us so blind sometimes to that unity?

      Reply
      • 3. Barry Briggs  |  May 28, 2010 at 9:10 am

        In my more pessimistic [realistic] moods, I say that we’re blind because we refuse to look. Call it defensiveness or laziness, but we don’t want to see that the white lie we tell to our partner to smooth over some situation actually has consequences throughout our entire life.

        I think this is what is meant in Buddhism by Great Courage – the willingness to see the actual truth of our lives – which is, indeed, our Buddha-nature, but which is not necessarily wonderful or charming.

        Suzuki Roshi once said to a student: “What do you want enlightenment for? You might not like it!”

  • 4. joannetolkoff  |  May 28, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    so true – thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


