weekword/braid

July 30, 2010 at 7:43 pm 10 comments

I thought I would try participating in a creative prompt blog meme (not sure what to call this actually) called weekword. It turned out to be good exercise for hand-idea coordination. The word is braid and it set me to trying to draw one and then thinking about how everything is interconnected. I stopped worrying about how to draw the braid and enjoyed just drawing. I first read about this on the blog of a local Lawrence artist, Aimee Myers Dolich. Her work is playful and heartfelt. A good guide for walking down this mysterious art and commerce road.

The word this week was picked by hennemavis.

Entry filed under: new beginnings, weekword.

magical mystery tour lodestar

10 Comments Add your own

  • […] by clicking on their name/links below: Mary Christine Domestic Scribbles Meg Peggy Cissi Joanne Junebug (I hope I got everyone! If you participated & don’t see your name above, comment […]

    Reply
  • 2. peggy fussell  |  July 31, 2010 at 9:11 am

    This is wonderful. I love the way everything is connected and one thing leads to another. I made up my own narrative as I wandered through.

    Reply
    • 3. joannetolkoff  |  July 31, 2010 at 11:52 pm

      Thank you! I think I made it up as well as I followed my pen across the page..

      Reply
  • 4. christine  |  August 1, 2010 at 3:59 am

    ohhh… I love this…. i’ve never been to your blog… will take a look around.
    your artwork is fanciful – making it worthy of screen printing to hang on the wall. would be fun to see illustrations that children could create stories from…
    my blog is not artsy but a conglomeration of my thoughts, pics and reflections of my 60th year…. hope you’ll visit…
    silverlinings4me.blogspot.com/

    Reply
    • 5. joannetolkoff  |  August 1, 2010 at 2:51 pm

      Christine, you tapped into my dreams! Thanks for visiting my site.

      Reply
  • 6. Junebug  |  August 1, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    This is so magical and intricate, and, as always truthful!

    Reply
  • 8. mary taitt  |  August 7, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    WOW! Interesting coordination, great colors, though-provoking picture–fun.

    Would you be interested in hosting the week word for next week?

    If you are there, could you please leave me a comment at http://nopolar.blogspot.com/2010/08/coming-soon-to-this-spot-weekword.html and let me know. I’m supposed to pick the person who will lost the next word. But I am new at this and do not know who to pick. Mary

    Reply
  • 9. mary taitt  |  August 7, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    It is definitely magical!!! 😀

    Reply
  • 10. mary taitt  |  August 7, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I had to keep going back and looking again–intriguing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


