Women entrepreneurs

January 28, 2012 at 1:12 pm 3 comments

I have been thinking about starting my own business for a very long time. My parents were entrepreneurs. On the outside, I thought I had a different path from theirs. On the inside, I chaffed at being tied down to any one company. My recent all time record for staying in one job was 6 years at a small Kansas university. Everyone around me there had unbelievable careers – 40 years, 30 years – even 10 sounded like a lot to me.

8 years ago, I thought, okay now it’s time to leap. I moved to Kansas from New York City with my husband at the time. My goal was to start a greeting card business. The midwest would be a less expensive place to live, he would work as a professor and I would make art all day. I spent the first year in heaven preparing for the annual Stationery Show in NY. I made tons of art for cards and packed it all up and sat in my booth at the show for 4 days trying to get noticed. I was told my work was too edgy by Hallmark but Recycled Greetings thought I had potential and tried to help me give my punchlines more mass appeal. The art director loved my work but could not convince his boss to take the next step.

Life then took a series of left turns – my husband and I bought a house, I took a job at the university to help with the mortgage, the job took on a life of its own and last but not least, the marriage ended. Needless to say, the dream was sitting on the back burner with barely a flame to keep it cooking throughout all these changes.

So now, after pulling up roots in Kansas and moving back to New York to figure out my next steps, I have turned up the flame on my business again. I watched this inspiring video today about women entrepenuers. Small businesses are the backbone of the new economy. Go women!

Entry filed under: my biz. Tags: , , , .

me and my shadow valentine’s prelude: feint and twist

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. StilettoBusinessCoach  |  January 28, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    The good thing is, the dream is inside of you. Your dream did not end with the marriage. You can still fulfil your dreams. Maybe reconsider going after the big greeting card companies and print and sell them yourself. It may take a bit more work, but will be well worth it. You can sell on your own web site, via Ebay, Etsy, Facebook. Additionally, you can try marketing to local gift shops, retailers, hospitals and flower shoppes. Take action! Never let anything hold you back. -Sone` Tramble, Stiletto Business Coach http://www.stilettobusinesscoach.com

    Reply
  • 2. Joanne Ungar  |  January 29, 2012 at 10:31 am

    “Inspirational” hardly describes this TED talk. I love it! Go Jo !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


