map quest

April 19, 2012 at 1:33 pm 7 comments

I relocated to the other coast last week. My brother and I drove across the country, my car stuffed with stuff. That’s one heck of a drive. I thought I would document it but after 10hrs a day of staring at open highway, my mind was as flat as western Kansas.

I moved out here for various reasons – help my Dad, try something new (again), transform my identity (hopeless idea) – but it’s all a big mystery.

Entry filed under: existential meanderings, new beginnings. Tags: , , , , .

Caine’s Arcade Earth Day prelude: rock of ages

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alison Dale  |  April 19, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    great drawing!

    Reply
  • 3. Kathy Neely  |  April 20, 2012 at 6:24 am

    Hey Joanne ! Congrats on successful trip – I thought of you when tornadoes were in the Kansas area. Glad you missed those.

    Reply
    • 4. joannetolkoff  |  April 20, 2012 at 3:59 pm

      Missed them by a week – whew! I didn’t need anymore drama than the drive itself.

      Reply
  • 5. Nancy Ness  |  April 20, 2012 at 6:49 am

    Holy smokes…moved again. You are an adventuress! Glad you made it safely. Give your Dad a Kansas style “Howdy!” for me. I still think about walking and talking with him. You are very lucky to have him.
    Love the direction your work is taking. Your language is so distinctive! When you get your card line up and going, you should try marketing them at Hobbs, The Raven, The Dusty Bookshelf and Signs of Life, maybe even the Etc Shop. It would be a nice market to test in. (and then I could buy some!)
    Nancy, smiling at you!

    Reply
    • 6. joannetolkoff  |  April 20, 2012 at 3:50 pm

      Thanks for the good wishes, Nancy. I am starting work now on getting those cards out there.

      Reply
  • 7. Angela Candela  |  April 22, 2012 at 11:34 am

    I love that you qualified the flatness by saying, “flat as WESTERN Kansas”. You are a truly knowledgeble ex-New Yorker!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


