training wheels

May 25, 2012 at 7:00 am 1 comment

Identity in the age of extroverts…

I’ve been waiting to receive a book I ordered from the library called  Quiet: The Power of Introverts by Susan Cain. I’d like confirmation that introverts can do public things even though they would really rather just be home with a good book.

I opened up my e-shop for business on Tuesday and stepped through a doorway that I didn’t even know was there. The first feeling was excitement followed by dawning dismay as a trickle of orders (2 to be exact) showed me that this was not going to be easy. As a matter of fact, it was going to be damn hard to go from zero to being an established brand. That was the first clear insight. I am awestruck by how quickly perceptions pivot once we step off the cliff.

Now that my eyes were wide open and my mood dropping faster than an untethered elevator, a good friend shined a light on another more tricky problem. What exactly was I selling anyway? Was I making art sold as greeting cards or did I really want to sell greeting cards with my artful and skewed take on life? Good question.

I’m not sure I can answer it just yet but I think it calls for a clear-eyed culling of my images and adding some words or punchlines which communicate a reasonably authentic sentiment. Now I bet you are wondering how I could not know greeting card 101, but maybe I wanted to bypass having to really tell anyone my feelings. I guess all that therapy didn’t prepare me for this.

Stay tuned.


Entry filed under: existential meanderings, greeting cards, my biz. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

(almost) ye ole greeting card shop learning to be a brand

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Shirley Domer  |  May 28, 2012 at 2:41 am

    Two orders in the first week is a good beginning. Word will spread and your business will grow. It just takes time. Internet selling is the perfect venue for the introvert.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


