the power of negative thinking

June 24, 2012 at 11:21 am 2 comments

The Anitidote, by Oliver Burkeman, proposes that living with uncertainty will make you happier than positive thinking. I’ve been living with uncertainty for over 5 years (actually my whole life but that’s another blog) and I’m not sure if I agree about the happier part but it is a more realistic way to navigate our current crazy economy.

I saw this trailer on my favorite blog, Brain Pickings. Blogger Maria Popover has an omnivorous curiosity for all things science and art. I highly recommend signing up for her newsletters. It’s like Christmas (or Hanukkah?) for the mind every Sunday morning.

Entry filed under: inspiration, mediated. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

no and no lettin’ the light shine

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Peg Waterman  |  June 25, 2012 at 7:12 am

    I am checking out both Maria Popover and Oliver Burkema. I mean… what’s the worst that could happen? Right? 😀 Thanks Joanne.

    Reply
    • 2. Peg Waterman  |  June 25, 2012 at 7:13 am

      Thank’s Burkeman.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


