how do you know who you are?

July 30, 2012 at 10:05 am 2 comments

My favorite illustrator/writer/artist on the planet, Maira Kalman, has posed this question repeatedly throughout her work. I have secretly, and not so secretly, wanted to be her. I tend to pose these questions silently or obscurely because I am afraid to be too direct. And when I venture out, it feels like my skin has no sheath.

In this interview, Kalman talks about her work and how she moves through the big questions of life. She is able to cut through the clutter to what is essential and meaningful for her path. And the biggest lesson for me – understanding when we have exactly what we need, no more, no less.

Entry filed under: existential meanderings, inspiration. Tags: , , , , , .

phobia little helpers

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Peg Waterman  |  July 31, 2012 at 9:02 am

    Like very much. And I am happy to say that I too have enough. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 2. Corinne O'Flynn (@CorinneOFlynn)  |  August 8, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    Hi Joanne! We met at SCBWI this past weekend. I thought that was a terrific video and am left feeling “yes”. nodding my head along with Maira. I’m going to seek out her work. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Twitter

Feeds


