family resemblance

October 10, 2009 at 6:12 pm 4 comments

Drawing

My mother, Marcelle, drew this in her later years. For most of her life, she claimed she could not draw. I am struck by the similarity of our quirky viewpoints. She spent most of her working years in the textile industry owning two businesses with my father. For the last 10 or so years of her life, she liked to draw in a primative fashion with felt markers. I have no idea what she was thinking while making this drawing. It is like a dream or puzzle to me, I can almost guess but remain baffled by the odd assortment of characters and stage setting.

Entry filed under: relationship. Tags: , , , , , , , .

that ole black magic insert title (here)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  October 11, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    I loved seeing this and the similarity to your work! It seems there must be some genetic component in our abilities that just can’t be denied. This picture looks to me like a magician’s act gone wrong. Is that a cat or a rabbit on the floor? The magician is on the right and his assistant on the left….but exactly what has just happened with the popped balloon? A mystery.

    Reply
    • 2. joannetolkoff  |  October 11, 2009 at 9:33 pm

      The magician act gone wrong is a good clue. I think it is a cat but the balloon still puzzles me. My mother’s imagination in her later years was really on a different plane. Very childlike. Thanks for trying to crack the code!

      Reply
  • 3. JEANETTE KIESNOSKI  |  September 6, 2013 at 6:06 am

    I bought a clay vase by Marcelle Tolkoff on LI over 20 years ago. Is she your mother? Their company was Unique Pottery of 5 Leeward Lane, Quogue , NY

    Reply
    • 4. joannetolkoff  |  September 12, 2013 at 9:29 pm

      Jeanette – yes, that is my Mom. You remembered the address! They moved out to Los Angeles about 17 years ago but she passed away over 4 years ago. I moved out to LA last year to live with my Dad and help him out. He still makes beautiful pottery. I’ll let him know you got in touch.

      Joanne

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Categories

Feeds